Hits: 521

Photo credit: The Free Trade by John Lord

Next September 1, 2013, Mexico will have a free trade zone with Central America, as the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with Guatemala starts effects.

Previously, this FTA started effects for El Salvador (September 1, 2012), Nicaragua (September 1, 2012), Honduras (January 1, 2013) and Costa Rica (July 1, 2013).

The free trade zone is established according to the GATT and GATS, following the rules of national treatment, most favoured nation, transparency, rules of origin and of course exceptions.

This FTA only applies between Mexico and the other parties, but not among them.

As Mexico is becoming a manufacturing powerhouse and pushing transforming reforms, it will also become an export plataform for the world using their free trade agreements.

What do you think?


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers:

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
%d bloggers like this: